Control America

August 6, 2006 at 2:52 pm (Israel, Lebanon, Middle East, United Sates)

Studying in the
US, one of the most critical periods of my life, taught me so much about life. The way I look at things now, I think, is much more like someone standing over a hill; can see things from above. The period marked the burial of so many ideas I believed true; one that I had always taken for granted is, “the evilness of
America.” I realized, however, that Americans believe in the same principles we call on our prayers; I realized that there is a BIG difference between
America and Americans! After living two years in Kentucky, and traveling to so many places in the US, I fell in love with the American principles and values like Justice, Equality, Liberty, Rule of Law, Hard work, Love, Diversity, Freedom, Fairness, Individual Rights, Life, and others that makes of the society a good one..

Why
America is so much hated by millions of people from all over the word, I realized, is because of its foreign policy, which reflects its face to the world. Most of the times, I suggest, Americans know nothing about it, or know little part of the facts. I still remember the day I interrupted Dr. Joe Chaney’s Ethics class by saying, “The US Foreign Policy sucks!” and still vividly remember his reaction defending it. It came out of my mouth seamlessly!!

After I came back home, Bahrain, and after the invasion of Lebanon by the Israeli forces, I couldn’t comprehend, why is it so un-American what
America is doing? Why did
America veto, from the beginning, the cease-fire draft from the UN, and directly oppose any of such? Why America stood shut when seeing the catastrophic invasion on the civilian population, that killed more than 700- most are civilian, and why it tried its best shutting everybody else; giving Israel the green light; can be understood when reading:

Every time we do something, you tell me America will do this and will do that. I want to tell you something very clear: don’t worry about American pressure on Israel. We, the Jewish people, control America, and the Americans know it!

Israeli Prime Minister, Ariel Sharon.
Oct 3, 2001, to Shimon Peres, as reported on KOL Yisrael radio.

Leave a Reply

